I Like Contrast

magnolia

Down below is a a new piece utilizing the above photo, which was taken last week at Magnolia Park.  There are some other nice sunset shots, but photo editing hasn’t been a priority this week.  I’ve been busy taking care of some of life’s responsibilities (laundry, looking for work, Pistons’ games) working on some music, and taking steps towards making photography one of the means of financially supporting myself.

Plus, I am reading books again.  Recently, I paid the fine on my library card down.  Thus, I was able to check out some Philip K. Dick books; Martian Time-Slip, Radio Free Albemuth, and The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch.  I’ve finished the first two and have made good headway into the last.  Each one has been impressive and thought-provoking.  Documentaries are another creative catalyst.  When I’m working on photos and the preliminary steps of making music, I often put on a documentary.  This week, I’ve taken in Miles Electric: A Different Kind of Blue and Vertical Horizon, which is about Camp Four, where a lot of mountaineering techniques were invented, at Yosemite National Park.

sunsetfrac1

I got down on the boxes a bit the past few days.  My goal is to put at least three hours a day in on music, but I’m not disciplined enough (or just  doing too many different things) to do it everyday.  Still, I usually put in at least an hour each morning.  Making music after waking up is a great way to start the day.  Anyhow, that is enough for now since Stella cat wants some attention.  I have some stories from the different adventures I’ve been fortunate enough to have this summer and fall, but those will have to wait for another time.  Lastly, below is a photo of my current music setup (thank the universe for generous friends).

setup

Leave a Reply

